Joscelyn's Journey

A Beautiful Child's Journey Through Hemimegalencephaly

A Visitor From Heaven

on June 25, 2012

As I recently wrote, we were absolutely astounded by the huge number and variety of adorable hats that our loving friends and family blessed us with at Joscelyn’s Hat Party on Saturday. When we left the event, we still had quite a few bags and boxes left to unwrap!

One of the packages I opened later at home was a wrapped shoebox. There was no card attached to the outside of it. “Who could this be from?”, I wondered aloud.

I unwrapped the box and inside, found a simple printed card with a picture of a butterfly.

I opened the card.

“You’ve Been Nicked!”, it read.

For those of you not yet familiar with the back story, when my 14 yr old son Nicholas was killed in an accident last November, some dear friends established a “kindness movement” in his honor. Since Nick always tried to make everyone around him feel good, we thought that a great way to honor his memory would be to have people write a handwritten note of appreciation to someone in their lives, a “Nick Note”, which would tell the lucky recipient exactly why they were liked, appreciated or loved.

Since Nick passed away over Thanksgiving weekend, many friends took the opportunity to print out blank Nick Notes from our website and use them on their holiday packages in lieu of traditional gift tags. My guess is that, in many cases, these Nick Notes were cherished more than whatever was inside the box they adorned! Recipients of these special notes were often told by the giver, “You’ve Been Nicked!” πŸ™‚

You can get your own blank Nick Notes to give away here: http://nicknotes.org/

(Just click on “Blank Nick Note” in the top left corner.)

The note inside Joscelyn’s package continued,

“I love you Joscelyn, because you’re my sister. I could nay be with you this day but I am never far away. I’m sending along another angel. With you she’ll stay.

Date: June 23rd, 2012Β  From: Heaven (with a little help from a friend)”

Also inside the box, was a beautiful purple butterfly sundress and matching hat.

And this lovely angel wearing a matching dress:

I just love her sweet face! πŸ™‚

(Needless to say, it’s a really good thing that I didn’t open this package while at the party. I shed more than a few tears when I read the card and saw what was inside!)

I don’t know who gave me this gift. They chose to remain anonymous and simply signed the card, “Made especially for you by one who hopes it brings a smile to your face and a chuckle to your heart.”

And through all of the tears, I DID smile! Our little girl was given a very special visitor “all the way from Heaven” to stay with her while she’s in the hospital!

Her brother Nick was a very special visitor from Heaven, too.

After the death of a friend’s infant daughter, singer Twila Paris wrote a beautiful song called, “A Visitor From Heaven”.

You can listen to it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EginYNcQvnE

The lyrics are:

“A visitor from Heaven,
If only for a while,
A gift of love to be returned,
We think of you and smile.
A visitor from Heaven,
Accompanied by grace,
Reminding of a better love
And of a better place.
With aching hearts and empty arms,
We send you with a name.
It hurts so much to let you go!
But we’re so glad you came!
We’re so glad you came!
A visitor from Heaven,
If only for a day,
We thank Him for the time He gave
And now it’s time to say,
We trust you to the Father’s love
And to His tender care;
Held in the everlasting arms
And we’re so glad you’re there!
We’re so glad you’re there!
With breaking hearts and open hands,
We send you with a name.
It hurts so much to let you go!
But we’re so glad you came!
We’re so glad you came!”

Though it will never feel like enough time, we are so grateful to have had Nicholas here with us for 14 wonderful years! His loving heart and contagious smile lives on through the Nick Note movement and through inspired acts of care and compassion like the giving of this beautiful angel and card.



27 responses to “A Visitor From Heaven

  1. giazzpet says:

    wow, that is amazing – hugs and hope from me πŸ˜€

  2. Mrs.Carlson says:

    Hot damn I just cried like a baby πŸ™‚

  3. debbie says:

    tears!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! love you!

  4. Heather says:

    Holy tears, batman! I adore Nick’s messenger. What a magnificent person.

  5. anna see says:

    that is beautiful!

  6. Tiffany says:

    Wow! How thoughtful of someone…I need a box of tissues now!

  7. Linda S. says:

    i’m loving all the love that is flowing in and around because jos is with us!!

  8. I’m in the Lake-Sumter Library right now, and I am a mess! I hope no one passes by right this minute.

  9. Cynthia Greenl says:

    Just to think there is some out there with some much love and compassion makes me have more renewed faith in mankind. We read all the horrid murder, mugging, robbery, etc. stories to read something like this and to know it happened to someone I knew just thrills my heart. I can understand how you were glad not to open it at the party, Jen. I would of been in tears too. What a beautiful and lovely thing to do…you know who you are. Thank you from me for such a beautiful and lovely gesture; just a friend of the family as obviously you are too. To include Nick this way was so very genuine and fantastic.

  10. Stacy says:

    OMGoodness, I need a box of tissues! How wonderful of someone to think of Nick and help him honor his little sister. Your stories inspire me. Please give that precious baby a kiss for me.

  11. Christine says:

    That is so beautiful. I cried while reading this. Joss is such a lucky little girl to have such an amazing big brother!!!!

  12. Mark Pettey says:

    You have wonderful friends πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

