Joscelyn's Journey

A Beautiful Child's Journey Through Hemimegalencephaly

Joscelyn’s Hat Party

on June 24, 2012

Several weeks ago, on a prompt from a fellow hemi-mom, I started shopping for a variety of hats for Joscelyn to wear after her hemispherectomy surgery. These hats would both protect her still-healing scar from the hot Florida sun and hopefully, also minimize the number of questions we received from strangers about her appearance. A friend on Facebook came up with the lovely and thoughtful idea of throwing a “Hat Party” for our little warrior princess. Guests were invited to bring a cute hat for her to wear and to bring a potluck dish for everyone to share.

What a turnout! I don’t think I’ve ever seen so many different hats in one place in all my life! There were cotton ones, knit ones, cute ones, sporty ones, girly ones, ones that had been handmade just THAT MORNING! (Oh, ot have that kind of talent!) We were so touched by everyone’s generosity!

The guests attended the party in some pretty nifty hats of their own!

 

Naturally, Joss had to try on some of her hats, too!

After playing some fun games, it was time to eat! Because really, when you find yourself under the sort of incredibly stressful circumstances we find ourselves under right now, the best advice is just to:

So we did! Yummy Hat Cupcakes made by our good friend Janette at Doodlebugs Cupcakes! Aren’t they cute?

Another friend also made this gorgeous hat-inspired cake!

Joscelyn was all smiles and really seemed to enjoy all of the fuss over her! This party was a stark contrast to her first birthday party a few weeks ago where she was lethargic and fussy after having suffered several seizures that morning. It was such a joy for us to see how happy and social she was being! Here she is with her loving daddy and doting Grandma:

It’s difficult for me to express how grateful we are to have had this special time with family and friends! There has been such heaviness in our lives the last several months and this was such a fun, happy time. It felt so good to just laugh and have fun with so many of the wonderful people who are supporting and loving us through this difficult time.

This is me (L) smiling and laughing with my sweet friend Debbie who coordinated the event and my dear friend Katie (R) who, along with her amazing husband Gary, provided the venue and games for the party at the martial arts studio where my boys attend.

Aside from being blessed in a practical way with so many adorable hats, we were comforted to know that our precious little girl will soon face what many consider to be the the most invasive surgical operation in use today, blanketed in prayer from not just her family, friends and community but from people all over the world as well!

Love was definitely the theme of the day! 

One of my favorite moments at the party was when my talented friend Mariah’s 1 yr old daughter caught a glimpse of herself in the wall mirror. She squealed with delight and began kissing her own reflection!

This is how I want my daughter to feel about herself! Whether the surgery leaves her with permanent “differences” or she grows up with no lasting effects from it whatsoever (Miracles still happen!), when she looks in the mirror, I want her to squeal with delight at the girl she sees reflected there. I want her to feel like James Brown when he sang, “Sometimes I feel so nice, good Lord! I jump back, I wanna kiss myself!” 🙂

Of all the pictures taken that day, this photo taken by my sweet friend Stephanie is the most precious to me:

In it, Joss’ eyes are directed heavenward. Her face reflects perfect peace, perfect trust and total contentment.

“All will be well, my sweet child”, a voice seems to be telling her.

“All will be well.”

10 responses to “Joscelyn’s Hat Party

  1. Mariah says:

    Jen – you inspire me on a daily basis with your strength, grace and faith. I feel so blessed that Robbie was able to inspire you for a change! We had such fun. Thank you for being you.

  2. Pam says:

    What a beautiful story…and I love the final picture with your thoughts about it…yes, I do believe “All will be well” for your precious Joscelyn. You are truly blessed with so many wonderful friends both near and far…people who will be praying and showing you Christ’s love throughout this journey. You are definitely in His hands…and “All will be well.” Thank you for sharing the pictures of this party. God is good. All the time good.

  3. mommasylvia says:

    What a beautiful day and what beautiful friends you have. Isn’t it wonderful that so many people love, support and pray for your family? I will be praying also. I am new to your blog. we have a lot in common. My daughter has a catastrophic seizure disorder caused by brain cancer. She has been cancer free for 11 years, but we can’t seem to find anything to stop the seizures. She is not a candidate for surgery, but maybe with advancements in treatment in the future we will find something! I still have hope!

  4. Praying for your sweet little girl! Your Faith causes each of us to evaluate our own level of Faith! Thank you!

  5. […] Beautiful Child's Journey Through Hemimegalencephaly « Joscelyn’s Hat Party Jun […]

  6. […] It’s not like she needs another hat!   We were blessed with over 40 adorable hats at her Hat Party recently. But I need to make […]

Leave a Reply

