Joscelyn's Journey

A Beautiful Child's Journey Through Hemimegalencephaly

Blood Drive for Joscelyn

on June 14, 2012

As many of you know, Joscelyn’s hemispherectomy is scheduled for the first week in July.

We have set up a special blood donation account for her at Florida‘s Blood Center.

If you would like to donate blood for Joscelyn, please visit any Florida’s Blood Centers location between Monday, June 18th and Friday, June 29th. (This window is very important.) Her blood type is A+, so anyone 16 years of age and older who is A+, A-, O+ or O- can donate.  Please identify yourself as a designated donor for Joscelyn Dempsey and give them her ID number, which  is 2108462.

Of course, even if you are not a match, donating blood is always a wonderful act of giving that will benefit someone! (Perhaps someone else’s baby!)

To locate a blood center near you, visit http://floridasbloodcenters.org/fbc-locations/viewLocations.stml.

Please share this post with anyone you know who might be willing to give the gift of life.

Thank you so much for your donation of blood and for your many prayers for our precious little girl!

24 responses to “Blood Drive for Joscelyn

  1. Mariah Lester says:

    I’m A+…..but I just got my latest tattoo a few months ago so I can’t donate. Boo!!!! =(

  2. Heather Rondeau says:

    I too am A+ with recent tattoos. I am just sick that I’m prohibited from donating now. Checking with other family and friends. I’m so sorry, Jennifer. Had I known I would have put off these darn tattoos. :<

  3. Jill Windham says:

    Consider it done!

  4. evsmith07 says:

    I’m not compatible but my husband is O+ and will be donating for her next week. Lots of love and prayers to you and Joscelyn ❤

  5. Sue Nickel says:

    Can we donate from Illinois blood centers?

  6. Maria Slaby says:

    O+ here and would be happy to help!! Will get my blood all ready to donate next week! 🙂 ❤

  7. […] Beautiful Child's Journey Through Hemimegalencephaly « Blood Drive for Joscelyn Jun […]

  8. Dathan Perez says:

    I’m donating for her Tomorrow

  9. Mary Duff says:

    I’m O+ and my hubby is A+. We heard about Joscelyn’s surgery through one of the homeschool group we belong. We were able to donate today on her behalf. Praying for a successful surgery and recovery. God bless!

  10. […] As a reminder, Today is Day 2 of Joscelyn’s Blood Drive. You can read more about how to donate here: Blood Drive Info […]

  11. judy rice says:

    I have noticed others have given without problems. However, this afternoon at the Apopka BB they told us that they needed the name of the hospital, and that ‘FL Hospital’ which was listed under Joscelyns number, was not enough. Yet I don’t see that anyone else had that problem. My husband has given with a request for it to be directed to Joscelyn, Apopka BB said that was not possible without the specific hospital name being listed on the donation, which was unavailable to them.

    • Hi Judy- I’m so sorry for the aggravation! Her surgery will be performed at Florida Hospital for Children in Orlando (Rollins St). I will call the Apopka BB tomorrow and try to straighten this out. Thank you SO much for your willingness to donate! Bless you!

  12. […] is the last day of Joscelyn’s Blood Drive. Our deepest thanks go to everyone who donated, those who tried to donate but couldn’t and […]

  13. Jamie (sister-friend of Owaissa) says:

    I am finally eligible to donate today and am A+ (I did an ALYX double platelet donation last time, so I had to wait 16 weeks instead of the normal 8 weeks). I am going to request that my donation be directed to Joscelyn, while understanding that I might be outside of the approved time window, but also knowing that it will be used and appreciated regardless. I am heartened to have read that there were well over 20 directed donations on her behalf!!! My thoughts and prayers are with her and your family!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

